Summer Adult Programs Quick Glance Table, Details Below:
|"Would Chuck" Disc Golf League - OPEN||Ages 16+||Orange County Disc Golf Course||May 24 - July 12, 2022||Tuesdays||6:00 P.M.||$25||May 20, 2022 |
(Space is limited)
|"Would Chuck" Disc Golf League - 50 & OVER||Ages 50+||Orange County Disc Golf Course||May 25 - July 13, 2022||Wednesdays||6:00 P.M.||$25||May 20 ,2022|
(Space is limited)
|Spring / Summer Tai Chi Fundamentals: Section I||Ages 18+||Orange Train Depot||May 31 - July 19, 2022||Tuesdays||6:00 P.M. - 7:00 P.M.||$80||May 31, 2022|
|Spring / Summer Tai Chi Fundamentals: Section II||Ages 18+||Orange Train Depot||May 31 - July 19, 2022||Tuesdays||7:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.||$80||May 31, 2022|
|Concealed Carry Training Class||Ages 21+, Must Live or Work in Orange County, VA||Sheriff's Office Practice Range||June 11, 2022||Saturday||9:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.||$30||May 27, 2022 (STRICT)|
Have fun, get exercise, and make friends during our summer disc golf leagues! New this year, a separate league will be offered for those 50 and older! Leagues will meet weekly for a round of play beginning the week of May 22, 2022. The Open League will play on Tuesdays, the 50 and Older League on Wednesdays. Thursdays will be reserved as rain makeup dates for either (or both) leagues. Every week for eight weeks, players will meet at the Orange County Disc Golf Course and play a round in groups of three or four. The player with the lowest score will receive the highest points for the week, with standings kept cumulatively throughout the season. Prizes (non-monetary) will be awarded at the conclusion of the league. Have a vacation scheduled during the season? No worries! We’ll drop your worst score to allow for a missed week (or a particularly bad round). All players will receive a commemorative bag tag following the season. To register, please contact Orange County Parks & Recreation at (540) 672-5435. The registration fee is $25 per person, and space is limited to 12 players per league.
Concealed weapons are weapons which are kept hidden on one's person, or under one's control not accessible to view. Lawful practice of concealed carry in Virginia requires a Concealed Carry Permit, which requires the completion of an approved firearms safety course to prove handgun competency. We understand that it may be difficult for the average citizen to find training or classes that are inexpensive. For this reason, Orange County Sheriff’s Office and Orange County Parks & Recreation have partnered to offer concealed carry classes at a minimum cost to Orange County Citizens and to those who work in Orange County. The training consists of education in the classroom to include safety, laws, shooting fundamentals, storage, maintenance, and legal considerations. Students will also have to demonstrate safe weapon handling on the range, and must bring their own firearm and ammunition. Instructors are Sheriff’s Office staff and DCJS Certified Firearms Instructors. Completion of this training course DOES NOT grant a concealed carry permit. Participant must still apply for the permit through clerk of the circuit court of the county or city in which he or she resides. For more information about concealed carry, visit: Resident Concealed Handgun Permits - Virginia State Police. Registration for the June 11, 2022 class must be completed no later than Friday, May 27, 2022. To register, complete a registration packet and return it to Orange County Parks & Recreation. Please note that the waiver page of this packet must be notarized. The $30 fee is due at the time of registration. Participants must provide their own firearm and manufacturer approved ammunition for the class.
Tai Chi continues this spring and summer. The new session will begin Tuesday, May 21, 2022, with classes continuing for eight weeks, ending on July 19, 2022. Have fun learning this graceful, slow-moving form of exercise that has ancient roots tracing back into the depths of Chinese culture and philosophy of centuries past. Two class options are available based on experience level. Section I will cover the first Third of Cheng Man Ching’s simplified Tai Chi Ch’uan (37 posture form), while Section II will cover the second third. Section II registration will require demonstration of proficiency with the first third of the form, as determined by the instructor. Both classes will be held in the Orange Train Depot on Tuesday evenings. Section I will begin at 6:00 p.m. and end at 7:00 p.m.; Section II will begin immediately following Section I and will end at 8:00 p.m. You must pre-register before attending. The registration fee is $80 for either class. Call (540) 672-5435 if interested in registering. For more information about Tai Chi, please visit: www.floatingcloudtaichi.org.