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CHAPTER 120 
MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 

 

22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 
 

A. Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia sets forth the 

responsibility of the Department of Social Services for licensure of family day-care 

systems, including the authority and responsibility of the State Board of Social Services 

for the development of regulations containing minimum standards and requirements. 

It is a misdemeanor to operate a family day-care system without a license. (§ 63.2- 

1712 of the Code of Virginia) 

B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 

the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Abused or neglected child" (see § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any 

child younger than 18 years of age whose parents or other persons responsible for his 

care: 

a. Create or inflict, threaten to create or inflict, or allow to be created or inflicted a 

physical or mental injury by other than accidental means, or create a substantial 

risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions; 

b. Neglect or refuse to provide care necessary for the child's health, unless the 

child is, in good faith, under treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer, 

according to the practice of a recognized church or denomination; 

c. Abandon the child; 
 

d. Commit or allow to be committed any sexual act upon a child in violation of the 

law. 
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22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 
 

"Child" means any person younger than 18 years of age. 
 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social Services also known as the 

Director of the Virginia Department of Social Services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

"Complaint" means an accusation received either orally or in writing that: 
 

a. A licensed family day-care system is not in compliance with one or more of 

these standards or one or more statutory requirements; or 

b. A family day-care system home is not in compliance with one or more 

applicable requirements of these standards or one or more requirements as 

established by the family day-care system; or 

c. A child or children in the care of a family day-care home, which is a member of 

a licensed family day-care system is or are being abused or neglected. 

"Day-care" means care, protection, and guidance provided to a child or group of 

children separated from their parents or guardian for less than 24 hours per day at a 

location other than the home of the parents or guardian. 

"Day-care provider" means an individual who, by contract with a family day-care 

system, provides day-care in his home. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 
 

"Department representative" means an employee of the department, acting as the 

authorized agent of the commissioner in carrying out the responsibilities and duties 

specified in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
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22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 
 

"Director" means the licensee or a person designated by the licensee who oversees 

the day-to-day operation of the system including compliance with all minimum standards 

for licensed family day-care systems. 

"Family day-care system" means any person who approves family day-care homes 

as members of its system; who refers children to available day-care homes in that 

system; and who through contractual arrangement may provide central administrative 

functions, including training of operators of family day-care homes; technical assistance 

and consultation to operators of family day-care homes; inspection, supervision, 

monitoring, and evaluation of family day-care homes; and referral of children to 

available health and social services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.) 

“Family day-care system home" means any private family home, which is an 

approved member of a family day-care system and receives nine or fewer children for 

care, protection and guidance during any part of the 24 hour day except children who 

are related by blood or marriage to the person who maintains the home. Family day- 

care homes that are members of a licensed day-care system and are approved by that 

system to care for five or more children are not subject to direct licensure by the 

department.) (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, or corporation to whom the 

license is issued. 

"Person" means any individual; corporation; partnership; association; limited liability 

company; local government; state agency, including any department institution, authority, 

instrumentality, board, or other administrative agency of the Commonwealth; or other legal 

or commercial entity that operates or maintains a child welfare agency. 



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES Page 4 of 57 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 
22VAC40-120 10/17 

22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 

 

 

"Referral" means any activity by the family day-care system that provides assistance 

in locating or arranging day-care for children in homes that have been accepted or 

approved as members of the system, or in locating or arranging for health or social 

services from other sources based upon identified needs. 

"Sponsor" means an individual, association, partnership or corporation having the 

responsibility for planning and operating a family day-care system subject to licensure. 

The licensee is the sponsor of a family day-care system. (The sponsor may not, in all 

cases, be the owner of the physical plant including buildings or real estate, or both, in or 

on which the family day-care system office is located. In these instances the term 

"sponsor" as defined here and used in this chapter is considered to be the person, 

partnership, association, or corporation that owns the enterprise rather than the physical 

plant or real estate, or both.) 

C. The license. 
 

1. A license to operate a family day-care system is issued to a specific person, 

partnership, association, or corporation for an exact location, which will be 

indicated on the license. 

2. The family day-care system shall be operated and conducted in the name of 

the sponsor or in such name as shall be designated on the application and as 

indicated on the license. 

3. The license expires automatically and is not transferable when there is a 

change of sponsorship. 
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4. The current license shall be posted at all times at a place that is conspicuous 

to the public in the building housing the system office. If the system has more 

than one office, copies of the current license shall be posted in a place that is 

conspicuous to the public in each office. 

5. An annual license is one issued to a family day-care system when the 

activities, services, and facilities meet substantially the minimum standards and 

requirements for a license that are set forth in this chapter and any additional 

requirements that may be specified in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia. The annual license is effective for 12 months unless 

it is sooner revoked or surrendered. 

6. When an annual license expires, a provisional license may be issued for any 

period not to exceed six months, if the applicant is temporarily unable to comply 

with all of the requirements; however, no facility may operate under any such 

provisional license and renewals of that license for a longer period than six 

successive months. 

7. At the discretion of the commissioner, a conditional license may be issued to 

operate a new facility in order to permit the applicant to demonstrate compliance 

with all requirements. A conditional license and any renewal of that shall be for 

no longer a period than six successive months. 

8. Terms of the license. 
 

a. The terms of any license issued include: 
 

(1) The operating name of the family day-care system; 
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22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 
 

(2) The name of the individual, the partnership, the association, or the 

corporation to whom the license is issued; 

(3) The physical location; 
 

(4) The number of homes that may be under contract to the system; 
 

(5) The period of time for which the license is effective; and 
 

(6) The total number of children who may be referred by the system and be 

receiving care at any given time in all homes that are members of the system. 

b. The terms of the license may include other limitations that the 

commissioner may prescribe within the context of this chapter. 

c. The provisional license cites the standards with which the licensee is not in 

compliance. 

D. The licensing process. 
 

1. Preapplication consultation. Upon request, the department's representative 

will provide consultation to any person seeking information about obtaining a 

license for a family day-care system. The purpose of such consultation is: 

a. To explain standards; 
 

b. To help the potential applicant to explore the operational demands of a 

licensed family day-care system; 

c. To provide assistance in locating sources of information and technical 

assistance; 

d. To alert the potential applicant of the need to determine whether local 

ordinances will affect the proposed operation (e.g. zoning, business license, 

etc.); and 
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e. To provide an onsite visit to a proposed family day-care system office, 

upon request. 

2. The application. 
 

a. The application for a license to operate a family day-care system shall be 

obtained from the department. 

b. The application, together with all required information, shall be submitted to 

the department at least two months in advance of the planned opening date. 

This is required in order that a determination of compliance with the 

provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, and with the Standards for Licensed Family Day-Care Systems as 

set forth in this chapter may be made. 

Among other things, the information submitted shall be sufficient to enable the 

department's representative to determine, during the subsequent 

investigation, the specific services to be offered, the adequacy of staff to 

provide these services, the financial capability of the applicant, the character 

and reputation of the applicant, including the officers and agents of any 

association, partnership or corporation as mandated by § 63.2-1702 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

c. The application shall be signed by the individual responsible for the 

operation of the family day-care system. The application for a family day-care 

system to be operated by a board shall be signed by an officer of the board, 

preferably the chairman. 
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3. The investigation. 
 

a. Following receipt of the application, the department's representative will 

make an onsite inspection of the proposed office and an investigation of the 

proposed services, as well as an investigation of the character and reputation 

of the applicant, and, upon receipt of the initial application, an investigation of 

the applicant’s financial responsibility. 

b. Applicants for licensure and licensees shall at all times afford the 

Commissioner reasonable opportunity to inspect all of their facilities, books 

and records, and to interview their agents and employees and any person 

living or participating in such facilities or under their custody, control, direction 

or supervision. (§ 63.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia). The financial records of 

an initial applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the applicant submits 

an operating budget and at least one credit reference. 

4. Notice to the applicant of commissioner's action. Upon completion of the 

investigation of the application for a license, the applicant will be notified in 

writing of the commissioner's decision. 

If the license is issued, an accompanying letter will cite any areas of 

noncompliance with standards. This letter will also include any limitations on the 

license and may contain recommendations. 

If a license is to be denied, the letter will state the reasons for the intent to deny 

and will set forth the applicant's right to an administrative hearing. 

5. Procedures for renewal of annual, provisional or conditional license. In order to 

renew an annual, provisional, or conditional license, the licensee must complete 
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22VAC40-120-10. Definitions, license provisions. 
 

the renewal application and return it, together with any required attachments, to 

the department. In order to assure timely processing, the renewal application 

should be completed and returned within 10 days after it is received from the 

department. 

The procedure for investigation and issuance or denial of the license as set forth 

in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection will be followed. 

6. Early compliance (replacement of a provisional or conditional license with an 

annual license). 

a. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and an annual license 

issued when all of the following conditions exist: 

(1) The facility complies with all standards listed on the face of the provisional 

or conditional license well in advance of the expiration date of the provisional 

or conditional license, and no additional areas of noncompliance exist; 

(2) Compliance has been verified by an onsite observation by the department 

representative or by written evidence provided by the licensee; and 

(3) All other terms of the license remain the same. 
 

b. A request to void a provisional or conditional license and to issue an annual 

license must be made in writing by the licensee to the regional office of the 

department from which the family day-care system's license to operate was 

issued. 

c. If the request is approved by the department, the effective date of the new 

annual license will be the same as the beginning date of the provisional or 

conditional license. 
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7. Situation requiring a new application. A new application must be filed when 

sponsorship of the family day-care system changes. 

8. Modification. 
 

a. The conditions of the license may be modified during the effective dates of 

the license with respect to increasing or decreasing the number of homes that 

may be placed under contract, the number of children who may be referred by 

the system and be receiving care at a given time, changing the name of the 

system when there is no change in sponsorship, changing location of the 

system office, or other conditions caused by changes in staff, program, or 

facilities. 

b. The licensee shall report to the department any contemplated changes in 

operation that would affect with either the terms of the license or the 

continuing eligibility for a license. (This does not mean the department has to 

approve changes in staff or program unless they affect the terms of the 

license or continuing eligibility.) 

c. This information shall be submitted in writing by the licensee to the regional 

office of the department from which the system's license to operate was 

issued. 

d. The department will then determine whether such changes may be 

approved and the license modified accordingly or whether a new application 

must be filed. 

9. Determination of continued compliance. In order to determine continued 

compliance with standards during the effective dates of the license, the 
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department's representative will make announced and unannounced visits to the 

office or offices of the system and may make such visits to homes that are 

members of the system. 

10. Complaint investigation. 
 

a. The department has the responsibility to investigate any complaints 

regarding alleged violations of minimum standards for licensed family day- 

care systems and provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

b. The licensee has the responsibility to investigate any complaints regarding 

any family day-care home that is approved as a member of its system. (See 

22VAC40-120-50 C.) At its discretion the department may also investigate 

complaints against individual homes. 

11. Revocation. Any license may be revoked for failure to maintain these 

standards or for violation of the provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

12. Appeals. The applicant or licensee has the right to request an administrative 

hearing regarding any denial or revocation of a license, in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Following the receipt of the final order which transmits the department's decision 

after the administrative hearing, the applicant or licensee has the right to appeal 

to a court of record in accordance with § 63.2-1710 of the Code of Virginia. 

 


